Partenaires Autochtones

Steel River reconnaît que les Premières Nations, Inuits et Métis jouent tous un rôle important dans l'entendance du développement de l'économie et des ressources canadiennes. Nous croyons que chaque partenaire apporte une valeur inestimable à l'Écosytème de Steel River et nous nous engageons à travailler ensemble envers de positifs changements sociaux, culturels et économiques.

 

Steel River reconnaît et respecte que chaque Partenaire Autochtone a sa propre et unique histoire, croyance et expertise, et aspire à créer des liens durables fondés sur le respect, la compréhension et la collaboration. À travers l'exploration d'opportunités communes, nous espérons tracer un chemin qui sera prospère pour tous.

NOS PARTENAIRES AUTOCHTONES

PARTENARIAT NATION ALEXIS NAKOTA SIOUX

 

Steel River a frièrement créé partenariat avec la Nation Alexis Nakota Sioux du Traité 6 à travers notre intérêt minoritaire à Backwoods Energy Services. En tant que Nation propriétaire de l'entreprise, Backwoods Energy Services travaille conjointement avec la Nation pour organiser et exécuter toutes exigences réglementaires et pour assurer un dialogue respectueux minimisant tout impact sur les Traités et Droits Autochtones.

 

À propos de la Nation

 

La Nation Alexis Nakota Sioux a été le premier partenariat de Steel River Group qui a fait partie de l'Écosystème en 2016. Les membres d'Alexis viennent de Stoney ou du “groupe ethnique Nakota” et sont les plus nombreux au nord-ouest de la famille du language Siouan. Les membres d'Alexis se réfèrent sous le mot “Nakota”, qui signifie ami ou allié. La Nation Alexis Nakota Sioux Nation est entré sous le Traité 6 en 1877 et compte 1800 membres à travers quatre réserves en Alberta. Leur térritoire traditionnel commence à la Rivière Cardinal au sud, longeant les contreforts et les Rocheuses, au-delà Whitecourt et Swan Hills au nord, et atteignant Barrhead à l'est.

PARTENARIAT BANDE LITTLE SHUSWAP

 

Steel River Group a frièrement créé partenariat avec la Bande Little Shuswap Lake. À travers cette alliance, Steel River Group et la Bande Little Shuswap Lake collaboreront dans l'avancement de projets qui sont mutuellement bénéfiques pour les intérêts économiques pour tous impliqués, à travers des liens respectueux et de transparence, alignés avec nos valeurs communes.

 

La Bande Little Shuswap Lake a récemment démontré un modèle fructueux pour améliorer les intérêts économiques de la région à travers le loisir, l'hospitalité, le développement de ressources et la construction. SRG travaillera étroitement avec la communauté afin de continuer dynamisme, en offrant à la Bande Little Shuswap un éventail de services tout en livrant des capicités additionnelles à leur entreprise et opérations.

 

Travaillant avec la Bande Little Shuswap, Steel River Group va collaborer avec le Chef et Conseil, le Groupe de Développement Économique et les membres propriétaires de l'entreprise. Steel River Group, à travers ses filiales et relations, cherche à augmenter et construire sur une fondation économique solide dans la région, créé par la Bande Little Shuswap.

 

SKWLAX RESOURCE MANAGEMENT

 

Skwlax Resource Management permet l'exploration collaborative de vastes opportunités qui sont présentes dans le Territoire Traditionnel de la Bande Little Shuswap incluant la grande région de Shuswap, certains endroits de la Région Thompson Nicola, Revelstoke et l'est de la frontière de l'Alberta.

 

Avec la force du modèle commercial de Steel River, ses relations et sa structure, plus la vision et leadership d'avant-garde de la Bande Little Shuswap Lake, cette nouvelle compagnie stratégique verra de rapide succès dans la région et saisira plusieurs opportunités dans les domaines de: construction d'autoroutes, construction civile, chemin de fer, services d'infrastructure municipal, matage, services de foresterie divers, préservation de la Langue et Culture, et développement continue de complexes touristiques. 

 

PARTENARIAT NATION STONEY NAKODA

 

Steel River Group a frièrement créé partenariat avec la Nation Stoney Nakoda. À travers cette alliance, Steel River Group collaborera avec l'Administration Tribale de Stoney et les membres propriétaires de l'entreprise. Steel River Group, à travers ses filiales et relations offrira à la Bande Little Shuswap un éventail de services tout en livrant des capacités additionnelles à leur entreprise et opérations. En partenariat, la Nation Stoney Nakoda et Steel River Group travailleront pour se renforcir et avancer mutuellement favorisant les intérêts économiques à travers des relations respectueuses et transparentes, alignés sur des valeurs communes.

 

À propos de la Nation

 

Les Premières Nations Stoney Nakoda sont composées des Nations Bearspaw First, Chiniki First et Wesley First. Les Stoney Nakoda font partie de la langue continuum Sioux-Assiniboine Stoney et parlent le Nakoda. Ils sont l'original “peuple des montagnes”, le “Iyarhe Nakoda”. Les Nations Bearspaw, Chiniki et Wesley ont tous fait partie du Traité No. 7, fait en 1877, mais ont habité leur région traditionnelle située au long du corridor des Rocheuses et ce pour plusieurs générations. L'histoire orale raconte qu'ils ont été dans cette région depuis des temps immémoriaux. Aujourd'hui, les Nations partagent la gouvernance à travers des réserves à Morley, Eden Valley, Rabbit Lake et Big Horn, en Alberta. Les membres de la Nation Stoney Nakoda continuent de pratiquer leurs cérémonies, culture, langue, valeurs et mode de vie traditionnelles; vivant en harmonie avec les contextes des temps modernes.

PARTENARIAT MÉTIS WILLOW LAKE

 

Les objectifs de la Nation Métis Willow Lake incluent le support et l'engagement communautaire, le développement de départements commerciaux durables et bâtir une communauté résiliente. Ceci est le premier partenariat de la Nation Métis Willow Lake et est fondamental à l'atteinte des objectifs pour la communauté.   

 

À propos de la Nation

 

Métis Willow Lake est une communauté au nord-est de l'Alberta dont les membres habitent principalement autour et dans la communauté d'Anzac, sur la côte du Lac Grégoire (Willow). Situé au cœur des sables butimunaux, la Nation Métis Willow Lake est une communauté de section 35 de titulaire de droits, des Autochtones du Canada et successeurs contemporains à l'histoire des communautés Métisses qui existaient avant la date effective de contrôle colonial en Alberta.

 

STEEL WILLOW RESOURCES

 

L'entité commune explore les opportunités commerciales dans la région des Municipalités de Wood Buffalo, Lac La Biche, Anzac, Fort McMurray, Cold Lake et nord-est du Saskatchewan dans les industries du pétrole, minier, civile, infrastructure, environnemental et secteurs du soin des eaux.

 

PARTENARIAT FÉDÉRATION MÉTIS DU MANITOBA

 

Ce partenariat stratégique tente de tirer profit des opportunités de la terre natale de la Nation Métisse, incluant dans les secteurs minier, d'infrastructure, de génération d'énergie et d'infrastructure municipale.

 

Ce nouveau partenariat inclut une jointe-venture d'arrangement distinct avec la branche opérationnelle du FMM, Metis N4 Construction, une corporation diversifiée de Gestion de Projets de Construction d'appartenance du Fond de Développement Économique Métis. Ce nouveau partenariat de jointe-venture a quinze projets tangibles à l'horizon, incluant l'Extraction de Sable Wanipigow Silica et le projet du Delta de la Rivière Saskatchewan. Le nouveau partenariat de jointe-venture renforce les habiletés de Metis N4 Construction d'obtenir et exécuter des projets en augmentant les capacités et les compétences condustrices.  

 

À propos de la Nation

 

Fondée en 1967, la Fédération Métisse du Manitoba est la représentation démocratique et auto-réglementée de la Nation Métisse du Manitoba pour la communauté Métisse. Les Métis du Manitoba sont les partenaires négociateurs de la Confédération du Canada. La structure gouvernementale de la FMM est composée de sept Régions du Manitoba dont chacune d'elles est divisée en 20 régions. Ces Régions incluent le Sud-ouest, Interlake, Nord-ouest, Winnipeg,Sud-ouest, la Pas et Thompson.

 

Pour plus d'information sur la Fédération Métisse du Manitoba, visitez www.mmf.mb.ca www.mmf.mb.ca

Yaq̓it ʔa·knuqⱡi’it (TOBACCO PLAINS INDIAN BAND)

 

Ce partenariat avec Tobacco Plains encourage L'Exploration Synergétique. et l'extentoin de Nouveaux Marchés dans la région du sud-est de la Colombie-Britannique Steel River Group travaillera avec Tobacco Plains et fournira une variété de services, collaborant avec la communauté pour se centrer sur la croissance des capacités de créer une viabilité économique et pousser les opportunités d'emplois durables pour Tabacco Plains et ses membres.

 

À propos de la Nation

 

Yaq̓it ʔa·knuqⱡi’it (Bande Amérindienne Tabacco Plains) est un petit mais diverse groupe de population Première Nation qui est situé au sud-est de la Colombie-Britannique, adjacent au 49eth parallèle. Nichée entre le pied des Rocheuses à l'est et le Lac Koocanusa à l'ouest, leur territoire est centré sur la Rivière Kootenay s'étendant à l'est à travers la Région de Castle et au sud aussi loin que Flathead. Yaq̓it ʔa·knuqⱡi’it est entouré de la beauté du territoire ce qui leur a permi de survivre et de se protéger pour des siècles. Yaq̓it ʔa·knuqⱡi’it sont fiers de leur attachement à leur territoire, aux animaux, à leur langue et à leur culture.

 

Pour plus d'information sur Tabacco plains, visitez: https://tabaccoplains.org/ http://www.tobaccoplains.org/

PARTENARIAT MEADOW LAKE TRIBAL COUNCIL

 

Steel River Group et Meadow Lake Tribal Council ont formé partenariat en 2021. Ce partenariat excitant avec MLTC qui représente les intérêts économiques de 9 Premières Nations du nord-ouest du Saskatchewan sera principalement centré sur la croissance de majeurs projets développementaux et d'économie durable pour les Nations de cette région.

 

À propos de la Nation

 

Le Meadow Lake Tribal Council (MLTC) a débuté en 1981 quand les Premières Nations du nord-ouest du Sasketchewan se sont réunies pour former le Meadow Lake District Chiefs Joint Venture. Le Meadow Lake District Chiefs est devenu officiellement le Meadow Lake Tribal Council en 1996.

 

Depuis ce temps, le Meadow Lake Tribal Council est devenu le testament de la nature coopérative des neuf Premières Nations Meadow Lake (MLFNs) qui composent le conseil tribal. Sous la direction des chefs de MLFNs, le Meadow Lake Tribal Council a vu une croissance stable en tant que programme de second niveau et prestataire de services. Le dévouement des gestionnaires et personnel du MLTC a fait preuve d'efficacité et de rapidité pour les services d'assistance qu'ils fournissent aux programmes niveau-MLFNs et des services qui opèrent au sein des neuf communautés.

 

Pendant que les liens entre le MLFNs et leur conseil tribal se développent, les deux côtés travaillent ensemble pour améliorer les programmes existants, prestation de services, création de programmes et services pour remplir les exigences en constante évolution des neuf MLFNs. Ce partenariat et atmosphère d'équipe a longuement démontré leur gestion des ressources de façon responsable et adaptée. Depuis les 28 dernières années, l'atmosphère réciproque de support et de progression a été une contribution inestimable pour les bien-être et succès des l'initatives du MLFNs.

PARTENARIAT BEARSPAW FIRST NATION

 

Le Steel River Group est fier de son partenariat avec la Première nation de Bearspaw. Ce partenariat permettra d'étendre cette relation existante afin de renforcer et de faire progresser les intérêts économiques de la nation par le biais d'une relation respectueuse et transparente - une relation fondée sur des valeurs communes, axée sur les initiatives d'impact collectif et les projets de partenariat public-privé (P4). Ce partenariat est une étape importante vers l'autosuffisance économique de Bearspaw, qui est l'un des objectifs à long terme de la Nation.

 

À propos de la Nation

 

Située à Morley, en Alberta, au pied immaculé des Rocheuses, et à Eden Valley, en Alberta, nichée entre les Rocheuses, les contreforts du sud et la rivière Highwood, la société Bearspaw exploite un centre de voyage sur l'autoroute Alberta #1, qui comprend un Tim Hortons et un Esso. De plus, ils sont copropriétaires du Stoney Nakoda Resort and Casino.

PARTENARIAT CHINIKI FIRST NATION

 

Le Steel River Group est fier de s'associer à la Première nation de Chiniki. Ce partenariat renforcera et fera progresser la nation dans le but d'atteindre l'autosuffisance économique. Cet objectif sera atteint par la mise en œuvre du modèle de partenariat public-privé-populaire (P4) de Steel River pour les futurs projets de développement, en mettant l'accent sur les initiatives à impact collectif centrées sur les valeurs fondamentales de Steel River que sont l'attention, la responsabilité, le respect, l'intégrité, la collaboration et la confiance.

 

À propos de la Nation

 

Situé à Morley, en Alberta, au pied des montagnes Rocheuses, à 25 minutes à l'ouest de Calgary, Chiniki exploite un restaurant Smitty's situé au carrefour de la route transcanadienne et de Morley Road. À l'intérieur du bâtiment, on peut trouver le centre culturel Chiniki. En outre, ils sont copropriétaires du Stoney Nakoda Resort and Casino.

PARTENARIAT BLACK LAKE DENESULINE FIRST NATION

 

Le Steel River Group est fier de s'associer à la Première Nation Denesuline de Black Lake. Le partenariat avec Black Lake se fera le champion du bien-être culturel, social et économique de la communauté en faisant progresser et en élargissant les intérêts actuels de la nation. Cet objectif sera atteint en travaillant en collaboration sur des projets avec l'industrie de la région, en particulier dans le domaine minier. Ce partenariat permettra à Steel River de mettre en œuvre son modèle de partenariat public-privé-populaire (P4), en mettant l'accent sur la préservation des valeurs culturelles et traditionnelles et sur la durabilité économique pour les habitants de la région.

 

À propos de la Nation

 

La Première nation denesuline de Black Lake est située dans la région du bassin d'Athabasca, dans le nord de la Saskatchewan, à environ 1 180 km au nord-ouest de Prince Albert. Les communautés de Fond du Lac, Stony Rapids, Black Lake, Hatchet Lake, Wollaston Lake, Camsell Portage et Uranium City y vivent. La Première nation possède de nombreuses entreprises, dont Elizabeth Falls Hydro, Black Lake Development, Black Lake Ventures et Waterfound Development Corp.

PARTENARIAT PAKUASHIPI INNU NATION

 

Le groupe Steel River est fier de s'associer à la nation innue de Pakuashipi. Grâce à la formation d'un véhicule de développement économique collaboratif, Steel River travaillera avec Pakuashipi et les communautés voisines afin d'identifier et de concrétiser les possibilités de créer des emplois durables et de générer des revenus pour l'ensemble de la région, tout en contribuant à diversifier et à soutenir l'économie de la Basse-Côte-Nord.

 

La région unique de Pakuashipi offre de nombreuses possibilités dans une variété de secteurs. Cependant, jusqu'à présent, la diversification de l'économie locale a été un défi logistique en raison de l'éloignement de la région. Le PDG de Steel River, Trent Fequet, est un fier Inuit de la région et connaît non seulement les défis auxquels la région a été confrontée, mais aussi l'énorme potentiel qu'elle possède. Grâce à cette compréhension approfondie, Steel River travaillera en collaboration avec la communauté pour faire avancer la vision culturelle, sociale et économique de Pakuashipi.

 

À propos de la Nation

 

La nation innue de Pakuashipi est une communauté de la Basse-Côte-Nord au Québec. Pakuashipi existe depuis des siècles et est l'une des 15 communautés réparties sur la Basse-Côte-Nord du Québec. Elle abrite un groupe résilient, ingénieux et diversifié, composé d'Innus de Pakuashipi, d'Inuits et de personnes d'origine européenne.

PARTENARIAT LOON RIVER FIRST NATION

 

Le Steel River Group est fier de s'associer à la Première nation de Loon River. Ce partenariat permettra de diversifier le portefeuille économique de Loon River en s'étendant aux industries régionales telles que l'exploitation forestière, la remise en état et l'environnement, tout en tirant parti des connaissances et de l'expérience traditionnelles de la communauté. 

 

Steel River soutiendra la vision culturelle, sociale et économique de Loon River en défendant et en faisant progresser les intérêts de la communauté auprès de l'industrie. Le partenariat permettra également de renforcer les capacités et d'accroître l'emploi dans la région en identifiant et en réalisant des opportunités de développement économique. Grâce à sa situation géographique au cœur du secteur énergétique du nord de l'Alberta, Loon River est bien placée pour tirer parti d'une myriade de possibilités dans le secteur du pétrole et du gaz. Ces possibilités seront renforcées par le développement et l'expansion d'un véhicule économique appartenant à la nation.

 

 

À propos de la Nation

 

Loon River, située sur le territoire du Traité 8 en Alberta, est composée de trois réserves : Loon Lake 235, Loon Prairie 237 et Swampy Lake 236. En plus de Loon River Contracting, Loon River exploite également Loon River Trucking, qui dessert l'industrie pétrolière et gazière dans l'Ouest canadien depuis plus de 20 ans.

PEEPEEKISIS CREE NATION PARTNERSHIP

 

The partnership with Peepeekisis Cree Nation focuses its efforts on advancing the Nation’s long-term economic interests inside the traditional territory of Treaty #4, while fostering the renewal of their culture, expanding their land-based education, and promoting the revitalization of their language.

 

The collaboration between Steel River Group and Peepeekisis Cree Nation will generate sustainable benefits back to its Members through focused opportunity exploration in resource development, agriculture, construction, renewables, housing, and irrigation.  The Nation will be synergized with Steel River Group’s Ecosystem companies, partners, and relationships, offering a wide scope of opportunities and vision for the future.

 

À propos de la Nation

 

The Peepeekisis Cree Nation is a signatory of Treaty #4 in 1874. Located in the traditional territory of Treaty#4 that spans thousands of kilometers traversing the provinces of Saskatchewan, Manitoba, and Alberta, the Peepeekisis Cree Nation is home to many distinct cultural groupings.

fr_CAFrançais du Canada

Indigenous Partners

Steel River acknowledges that First Nations, Inuit, and Metis all play a critical role in the stewardship of Canada’s natural resources and economic development. We believe each partner brings tremendous value to the Steel River Ecosystem, and we are committed to working together for positive social, cultural, and economic change.

 

Steel River acknowledges and respects that each Indigenous Partner has its own unique history, beliefs, and expertise and strives to create long-lasting relationships grounded in respect, understanding, and collaboration. Through the exploration of shared opportunities, we hope to forge a prosperous path forward for all.

OUR INDIGENOUS PARTNERS

ALEXIS NAKOTA SIOUX NATION PARTNERSHIP

 

Steel River Group has proudly partnered with Alexis Nakota Sioux Nation of Treaty 6 land through our minority interest in Backwoods Energy Services. As a Nation-owned business, Backwoods Energy Services works in conjunction with the Nation to coordinate and execute all regulatory requirements and ensure respectful dialogues that mitigate any impact on Aboriginal and Treaty Rights.

 

About the Nation

 

The Alexis Nakota Sioux Nation was Steel River Group’s first Indigenous Partner to become part of its Ecosystem in 2016. Members of Alexis are of the Stoney or “Nakota ethnic group” and are the most northwestern part of the Siouan language family. Alexis members refer to themselves as “Nakota”, meaning friend or Ally. The Alexis Nakota Sioux Nation entered Treaty 6 in 1877 and has 1800 members across four reserves in Alberta. Its traditional territory is from the Cardinal River to the south along the foothills and the Rocky Mountains beyond Whitecourt and Swan Hills in the north, reaching east past Barrhead.

LITTLE SHUSWAP LAKE BAND PARTNERSHIP

 

Steel River Group has proudly partnered with Little Shuswap Lake Band. Through this relationship, Steel River Group and Little Shuswap Lake Band will collaborate to advance projects that are mutually beneficial for the economic interests of all stakeholders through a respectful and transparent relationship, that is aligned through shared values.

 

Little Shuswap Lake Band (LSLB) has recently demonstrated a successful model for improving the economic interests of the region through recreation, hospitality, resource development, and construction. SRG will work closely with the community to continue this momentum, by providing LSLB with an expanded scope of service offerings while delivering additional capacity to its existing businesses and operations.

 

Working with Little Shuswap Lake Band, Steel River Group will collaborate with Chief and Council, the Economic Development Group, and Band Member-owned businesses. Steel River Group, through its subsidiaries and relationships, seeks to augment and build upon the strong economic foundation created in the region by Little Shuswap Lake Band.

 

SKWLAX RESOURCE MANAGEMENT

 

Skwlax Resource Management allows for collaborative exploration into the vast opportunities that are present in the Little Shuswap Lake Band’s Traditional Territory including the greater Shuswap region, areas of the Thompson Nicola Region, Revelstoke, and east to the Alberta Border.

 

With the strength of Steel River’s Business model, relationships, and back end structure, and Little Shuswap Lake Band’s progressive leadership and vision, this new strategic company will see rapid success in the region and capture opportunities in the areas of: highway construction, civil construction, railways, gas, municipal infrastructure services, matting, various forestry services, Language and Cultural preservation, and continued resort development. 

 

STONEY NAKODA NATION PARTNERSHIP

 

Steel River Group has proudly partnered with Stoney Nakoda Nation. Through this relationship, Steel River Group will collaborate with the Stoney Tribal Administration and Band Member-owned businesses. Steel River Group, through its subsidiaries and relationships, will also provide Stoney Nakoda Nations with an expanded scope of services and deliver additional capacity to its businesses and operations. In partnership, Stoney Nakoda Nations and Steel River Group will work to strengthen and advance mutually benefiting economic interests through a respectful and transparent relationship that’s aligned in shared values.

 

About the Nation

 

The Stoney Nakoda First Nations are composed of the Bearspaw First Nation, the Chiniki First Nation, and the Wesley First Nation. The Stoney Nakoda are part of the Sioux-Assiniboine Stoney language continuum and speak the Nakoda language. They are the original “people of the mountains”, the “Iyarhe Nakoda”.  The Bearspaw, Chiniki and Wesley Nations were each parties to Treaty No. 7, made in 1877, but have inhabited their traditional areas along the Rocky Mountain corridor for generations. Oral history says that they have been there since time immemorial. Today the Nations share governance over reserve lands at Morley, Eden Valley, Rabbit Lake and Big Horn, Alberta. Stoney Nakoda Nation members continue to practice their traditional ceremonies, culture, language, values and way of life; living in harmony within the context of modern times.

ASENIWUCHE WINEWAK NATION PARTNERSHIP

 

Steel River Group has proudly partnered with Aseniwuche Winewak Nation (AWN). AWN is well positioned for growth and economic development as a result of emerging industries and opportunities local to its traditional territory, including its fully operational fabrication shop.  Steel River Group will work alongside the Nation to capture these opportunities by bolstering capacity and backend structures, increasing the ability to capitalize on future ventures.

 

Working with Aseniwuche Winewak Nation, Steel River Group will collaborate with youth and elders, elected officials, the economic development group and band member-owned businesses to fully understand their long-term goals and vision. Steel River Group, through its subsidiaries and relationships, will seek to augment and build upon the economic opportunities in AWN’s traditional and surrounding areas.

 

About the Nation

 

Aseniwuche Winewak Nation is a provincially incorporated not-for-profit society representing seven Indigenous communities in Grande Cache, Alberta. Formed in 1994, AWN represents 350+ members who share a unique history and ancestry as descendants of various Indigenous groups, including Sekani, Dene-saa and Iroquois.

WILLOW LAKE MÉTIS PARTNERSHIP

 

Steel River Group has proudly partnered with Willow Lake Metis. The Willow Lake Métis Nations’ goals include community support and engagement, development of a sustainable business department, and building a resilient community. This is the first partnership of the Willow Lake Metis and is foundational to the success of the community goals.   

 

About the Nation

 

Willow Lake Métis is a community in northeastern Alberta whose members mainly reside in and around the community of Anzac, AB on the shores of Gregoire (Willow) Lake. Located in the heart of the Oilsands the Willow Lake Métis is a section 35 Aboriginal rights-bearing community, an Indigenous people of Canada, and the contemporary successor to the historical Métis community that existed prior to the date of effective colonial control in Alberta.

 

STEEL WILLOW RESOURCES

 

The joint entity explores business opportunities in the regions of the Municipality of Wood Buffalo, Lac La Biche, Anzac, Fort McMurray, Cold Lake, and North East Saskatchewan within the oil & gas, mining, civil, infrastructure, environmental, and water care sectors.

 

MANITOBA MÉTIS FEDERATION PARTNERSHIP

 

Steel River Group has proudly partnered with Manitoba Metis Federation. The strategic partnership seeks to capitalize on opportunities within the Homeland of the Metis Nation, including mining, energy infrastructure, power generation, and municipal infrastructure.

 

This partnership includes a stand-alone joint venture arrangement with the MMF’s operating arm, Metis N4 Construction, a diversified Project Management Construction corporation owned by Metis Economic Development Trust. The new joint venture partnership has fifteen tangible projects on the horizon, including the Wanipigow Silica Sand Extraction Project and the Saskatchewan River Delta project. The new joint-venture partnership strengthens the ability of Metis N4 Construction to win and execute projects by increasing capacity and driving competency.  

 

About the Nation

 

Founded in 1967, the Manitoba Metis Federation is the democratic and self-governing representative of the Metis Nation’s Manitoba’s Metis Community.  The Manitoba Metis are Canada’s negotiating partners in Confederation and are the Founders of the Province of Manitoba.  The MMF’s governance structure is comprised of seven Regions within Manitoba each of which are divided into up to 20 Locals.  These Regions include Southeast, Interlake, Northwest, Winnipeg, Southwest, The Pas, and Thompson.

 

For more information about the Manitoba Metis Federation, visit www.mmf.mb.ca

MÉTIS NATION OF ALBERTA – REGION 3

 

Steel River Group has proudly partnered with Metis Nation of Alberta – Region 3. The strategic partnership will create strategic social and business synergies and explore regional opportunities in a variety of sectors such as oil and gas, mining, transportation, tourism and hospitality, residential, resort, and commercial development.

 

Steel River Group will work towards building and maintaining a long and prosperous relationship with the Métis Nation of Alberta Region 3 that creates opportunities and sustainability for its people and Homeland.

 

About the Nation

 

The mandate of the Métis Nation of Alberta – Region 3, supports and promotes economic growth opportunities and practices of transparency, accountability, and inclusiveness for Métis Albertans in governments’ policy and decision-making processes, and overall, promotes and facilitates the advancement of Métis people through self-reliance, self-determination, and self-management.

 

Since 2006, the Métis population has grown by 51.2%. The Métis are one of the fastest-growing populations in Canada with a population of 587,545 in 2016. Alberta today accounts for more than 114,370 Métis living in the province.

 

Our Métis Nation of Alberta Region 3 Regional council consists of 6 Métis locals located in Calgary, Rocky Mountain House, Red Deer, Medicine Hat, Lethbridge, and Pincher Creek.

 

For more information about MNA – Region 3, visit https://metis3.org/

Yaq̓it ʔa·knuqⱡi’it (TOBACCO PLAINS INDIAN BAND)

 

Steel River Group has proudly partnered with Yaq̓it ʔa·knuqⱡi’it (Tobacco Plains Indian Band). The partnership with Tobacco Plains enhances Synergistic Exploration and Expansion of New Markets in the Southeast Region of British Columbia. Steel River Group will work with Tobacco Plains and provide a diverse scope of services, collaborating with the community to focus on building capacity to create economic sustainability, and driving long term employment opportunities for Tobacco Plains and its people.

 

About the Nation

 

Yaq̓it ʔa·knuqⱡi’it (Tobacco Plains Indian Band) is a small but diverse First Nation located in the southeast region of British Columbia adjacent to the 49th parallel.  Nestled between the base of the Rocky Mountains to the east and Lake Koocanusa to the west, their territory is centered on the Kootenay River extending east through the Castle region and as far south beyond the Flathead.  Yaq̓it ʔa·knuqⱡi’it is surrounded by the beauty of the land that has sustained and protected their people for centuries.  Yaq̓it ʔa·knuqⱡi’it pride themselves in their connection to the land, to the animals, and to each other with their identity rooted deeply in family, the land, their language, and culture.

 

For more information about Tobacco Plains visit: http://www.tobaccoplains.org/

MEADOW LAKE TRIBAL COUNCIL PARTNERSHIP

 

Steel River Group has proudly partnered with Meadow Lake Tribal Council (MLTC). The exciting partnership with MLTC which represents the economic interests of 9 First Nations of North West Saskatchewan will be focused on increasing major project development and economic sustainability for the Nations in the region.

 

About the Nation

 

The Meadow Lake Tribal Council (MLTC) began in 1981 when the First Nations of Northwest Saskatchewan united to form the Meadow Lake District Chiefs Joint Venture. The Meadow Lake District Chiefs became officially known as the Meadow Lake Tribal Council in 1996.

 

Since that time, the Meadow Lake Tribal Council has become a testament to the cooperative nature of the nine Meadow Lake First Nations (MLFNs) that comprise the tribal council. Under the direction of the MLFNs Chiefs, the Meadow Lake Tribal Council has progressed steadily as a second-level programs and services provider. The dedication of the MLTC managers and staff has proven itself in the efficient and effective assistance it provides to the MLFNs-level programs and services that operate within the nine communities.

 

As the relationship between the MLFNs and their tribal council develops, both sides work towards improving existing program and service delivery and creating programs and services to meet the ever-changing needs of the nine MLFNs. This partnership and team atmosphere have a long-running track record of responsive and responsible use of available resources. Over the last 28 years, the reciprocal atmosphere of support and progression has seen invaluable contributions made to the overall wellbeing and success of MLFNs initiatives.

BEARSPAW FIRST NATION PARTNERSHIP

 

Steel River Group has proudly partnered with Bearspaw First Nation. This partnership will extend that existing relationship to strengthen and advance the economic interests of the Nation through a respectful and transparent relationship – one that is built on shared values, with a focus on Collective Impact initiatives and People-Public-Private-Partnership (P4) Projects. This partnership is an important step towards economic self-sufficiency for Bearspaw, which is one of the Nation’s long-term goals.

 

About the Nation

 

Located in Morley, AB at the pristine foot of the Rocky Mountains and in Eden Valley, AB nestled between the Rockies, southern foothills and the Highwood River; Bearspaw operates a travel centre on the Alberta #1 highway, including a Tim Hortons and Esso. Additionally, they are co-owners of the Stoney Nakoda Resort and Casino.

CHINIKI FIRST NATION PARTNERSHIP

 

Steel River Group has proudly partnered with Chiniki First Nation. The partnership with will strengthen and advance the Nation with the goal of becoming economically self-sufficient. This will be achieved through the implementation of Steel River’s People-Public-Private-Partnership (P4) model for future development projects, with a focus on collective impact initiatives centered around Steel River’s core values of care, accountability, respect, integrity, collaboration and trust.

 

About the Nation

 

Located in Morley, Alberta, at the foot of the Rocky Mountains 25 minutes West of Calgary; Chiniki operates a Smitty’s Restaurant located at the crossroads of the Trans-Canada Highway and Morley Road. Inside the building, one can find the Chiniki Cultural Centre. Additionally, they are co-owners of the Stoney Nakoda Resort and Casino

BLACK LAKE DENESULINE FIRST NATION PARTNERSHIP

 

Steel River Group has proudly partnered with the Black Lake Denesuline First Nation. The partnership with Black Lake will champion the cultural, social, and economic wellbeing of the community by advancing and expanding the Nation’s current interests. This will be accomplished by working collaboratively on projects with industry in the region, specifically in mining. This partnership will see Steel River implement their People-Public-Private-Partnership (P4) model keeping a focus on the preservation of cultural and traditional values and economic sustainability for the people there.

 

About the Nation

 

Black Lake Denesuline First Nation is located in Northern Saskatchewan’s Athabasca Basin region, approximately 1,180 km northwest of Prince Albert and is home to the Fond du Lac, Stony Rapids, Black Lake, Hatchet Lake, Wollaston Lake, Camsell Portage and Uranium City communities. The First Nation owns numerous businesses including Elizabeth Falls Hydro, Black Lake Development, Black Lake Ventures, and Waterfound Development Corp.

PAKUASHIPI INNU NATION PARTNERSHIP

 

Steel River Group has proudly partnered with Pakuashipi Innu Nation. Through the formation of a collaborative economic development vehicle, Steel River will work with Pakuashipi and neighbouring communities to identify and realize opportunities to create sustainable employment and revenue-generating possibilities for the wider region, while helping to diversify and bolster the economy of the Lower North Shore.

 

The unique Pakuashipi region holds ample opportunity in a variety of sectors, however, to date, diversifying the local economy has been logistically challenging because of the remoteness of the region. Steel River CEO, Trent Fequet, is a proud Inuit from the Region and knows not only the challenges the area has faced, but also the enormous potential the area possesses. Through this deeper understanding, Steel River will work collaboratively with the community to advance the cultural, social, and economic vision of Pakuashipi.

 

About the Nation

 

Pakuashipi Innu Nation is a community on the Lower North Shore in Quebec. Pakuashipi has been around for centuries and is one of 15 communities spread across the Lower North Shore of Quebec. It is home to a resilient, resourceful, and diverse group made up of Pakuashipi Innu, Inuit, and people of European descent.